New Owner Needing Advice

Guest nic1709

Guest nic1709

Hello,

I recently got two beautiful greyhounds (about 4 weeks ago) called Lexie and Luther. I've never owned greyhounds before or any dogs for that matter so I'm very new to it all. Lexie is 3 and Luther is 5 and up till now everything has been great- they are well behaved and have been settling in well. However, recently Lexie was spayed and since then she has had the most awful dandruff. It's not all over- just around her legs and the base of her tail. She scratches a lot (when she's not sleeping!) but is otherwise in good health; shiny eyes, wet sniffy nose, waggy tail and curious. I've no idea what may be causing the dandruff- after some rooting about online it may be diet, it may be because she's just been spayed...? Both dogs have 2 weetabix and 2 slices of wholemeal bread with milk and water in the morning. They'll have a treat in the middle of the day just to keep them going and at night they are getting two cupfuls of Harrington's adult dog complete topped with either tuna in sunflower oil or Pedigree dog food or leftover bits from our dinner. I have read online that retired greyhounds enjoyed weetabix for breakfast and that they enjoyed bread when living in kennels but somewhere else online suggested that greyhounds with dandruff may suffer grain/wheat allergies. I am confused!! I'm looking for experienced greyhound owners to point me in the right direction with regards to food and how much food is enough food- mine are always looking for titbits!