Couch Lover

Guest Cassidy

Guest Cassidy

Hi everyone!

I am new to owning a greyhound but am already in love with my 4 year old boy , Flip. The first day we brought him home he jumped up on the couch and made himself comfortable. I quickly told him to get down and pointed to his bed and he layed down on it and fell asleep. He jumped up on the couch a few more times and every time i would tell him to get down. He now only gets on the couch when im not in the room or when he thinks im not home. Every morning my boyfriend wakes up, lets him outside to go for a walk, feeds him, and then leaves for work. All the while i am upstairs getting ready for work he is downstairs thinking that everyone has left the house and jumps right up on the couch. Is it unrealistic of me to expect him not to jump on our couches? Any advice would be appreciated. :)

Put stuff on the couch so he can't jump up there

I have 3 couches in the living room but only 3 hounds actually go on the couch so there's still room for me

gallery_2213_3086_11460.jpg

Kari and the pups.
Run free sweet Hana 9/21/08-9/12/10. Missing Sparks with every breath.
Passion 10/16/02-5/25/17

Guest KennelMom
Is it unrealistic of me to expect him not to jump on our couches?

From what you said...probably. He's figured out that there is no correction when the human isn't present. Not entirely unlike people (how many of us speed...until we see a cop?)

If you can keep him from getting up there long enough, the behavior may naturally extinguish itself.

Guest Greyt_dog_lover

How badly to you want to keep him off the sofa? If it is imperative that he not be on the sofa, then go to the store and get those clear plastic carpet runners that have the small spikes on the bottom to hold them in place. When you are not around, put the plastic on the sofa, spikey side up. he will only jump up one time after that.

Chad

Guest Johnpilot