Greyhounds = Love

Guest tbrodzel

Guest tbrodzel

Hello All,

First I would like to start by saying I am a newbie. This is my first Dog and first Greyhound. SO I have many questions and don't always know what to expect. I have read a few books and read the post that explains my Brynna's very different life before she came to us, but I still have many questions.

When researching which dog would be right for me, affection was a HUGE deal. I read and heard from many that Greyhounds eat up love and attention. Now affection can mean different things so perhaps I misunderstood or maybe it is just too soon. I know Brynna is too big to be a lap dog, but I really would love it if she would cuddle on the sofa or my bed with me while watching tv or even be fine with her head on my lap while I pet her. Granted I have only had Brynna for 2 months, so maybe I am expecting things too soon (I have no past experience to gauge it with). Brynna will follow me around at times and lay on the floor or couch near me, but if I am too close she jumps up really fast. She doesn't like anyone to be really close to her head and sometimes her body. (maybe something happened to her during her racing days or maybe she is just so used to living in a kennel with no humans next to her). Anywho, can I expect that in time she will get used to humans being near her? Is there anything I can do to help her get used to humans being near and show her that it is a good thing? Or do I just accept that this is her personality and who she is and always will be?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and advice.

Guest greysonly

I think give it time she will be snuggling you. Marley didn't want anyone by him either when I first got him. But they warm up to you after a while. Now he snuggles me on the couch. Sometimes he tries to push me off tho :P

Guest KennelMom