I Should Know This, But I Don't!

Guest kodywyoming

Guest kodywyoming

When I adopted Zoey the adoption group was kind enough to give me Frontline and some heartworm preventative (can't remember which brand; I'm at work).

I just realized that I don't know where to get this stuff myself. Do I have to see a vet and get a prescription? Can I pick it up at Petsmart? Should I order from the internet? Which brand of each do you reccomend?

Zoey had ticks (and possibly fleas) pretty bad when she came from the kennel, but the first dose of Frontline (and a bath at the vet) seemed to take care of it, but we've been spending a lot of time at the park by the creek and I'm starting to see itty bitty ticks again, so I think I want to give it to her as often as possible (we can do a few months of once a month, right, and then go down to the once every 2-3 months [can't remember the reccomendeation on the box]?).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! This is my first time owning a dog as an adult so I want to get things right of course. :)

Yes, for heartworm it's prescription only, and you need a heartworm test annually in order to get a prescription.

Frontline can be ordered online without a prescription. Some brands of flea/tick stuff are available at Petsmart but I don't know if that includes the good brands that are safe to use on greyhounds.

With Cocoa (DC Chocolatedrop), missing B for Beth (2006-2015)
And kitties C.J., Klara, Bernadette, John-Boy, & Sinbad

Guest Energy11

You can get BOTH the heartworm preventative and the Frontline/Advantage online. You WILL NEED a script from your vet for any type of Heartworm preventative you order, but not the other stuff (topical for fleas). Personally, I use Iverheart MAX, (*vet wrote me a script) and Adams Flea and Tick Mist for flea and tick control. I personally, SWEAR by the Adams! Had about for or five ticks this summer and NO fleas!

You can get the Adams online or at Wal-Mart, believe it or not!