Kidney Disease

Guest millieb

Guest millieb

Hi Folks,

This is my first posting. We have adopted two x-racing greyhounds, a male and a female.

We had them for a year since this July. We feed 4 times a day, (husband is retired). Our

female decided that she no longer wants to eat in the morning, and sometimes has to be coaxed

to eat in the afternoon. Evening meals she's OK.

Took her to the Vet and the diagnosis is claimed to be Kidney Disease. Basically the vet

vet decided this because when we had her teeth cleaned, we paid to had blood work done.

Her Creatinine level then was 1.9, (february 09). This time her Creatinine level was 1.8, (June,09).

I am not convince she has KD, as her BUN level is normal, and there is no blood in her Urine,

which I checked myself,(I'm a lab tech). All other chemistries look good.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this and how can I go about educating my Vet on the

health of Greyhounds, they haven't seen many out here in North Dakota.

Thanks for any input from Millie, Bob, LiL Ruby, and Maximus

Welcome to GT.

If you Google up 'greyhound kidney values,' the first two hits will be from Dr. Feeman, who has written on the subject. The third hit may be more useful:

http://www.recycledracers.org/FAQ/greyhoun...html#creatinine

Greyhound norms for creatinine is 0.8 to 1.6, but that probably depends upon the norms for the test. So, a 1.8 is a touch higher than normal, and reason to monitor, but probably not actionable unless BUN goes out of whack, too.

Something you can do is pick up a box of urine test strips, the 10SG stuff off Amazon or eBay or whatever. MUCH less expensive than at the local pharmacy!

http://www.amazon.com/Multistix-Generic-Ur...E/dp/B0006U307O

And then do your own dipstick tests every now and again to put your mind at rest. :)

Coco (Maze Cocodrillo)

Minerva (Kid's Snipper)