Cat Safe?

Hello! I'm new to the web site and will be a new mom to a greyound this Thursday!! :colgate I currently live in a home owned by three cats and I'm looking for advice on how to introduce the dog to the cats. If anyone has any tips/stories I would love to hear them.

Image removed. Not within the GreyTalk signature guidelines of <15 KB file size limit. Your image was 17.51 KB (17,929 bytes) file size.

Guest Jennifer4719

You have come to the right place for advice. I definately would use a muzzle and a leash until you are sure that it is safe.

Congrats on your new grey!

Guest caiteag

Start with having the dog muzzled and leashed at all times (unless the dog is in a crate). As you feel safe, stop using the leash. I would continue to use the muzzle for quite a while though. Even if you feel the dog is safe around the cats, continue with muzzling at all times for at least the first month. After that, make sure you muzzle if the hound and cats will be left alone together. We have had Choo Choo for a year and a half and we still muzzle her if she is going to be left home alone with our cats.

If you aren't planning on crating, consider it again. Crates are a great training tool with hounds and cats.

Hello! I'm new to the web site and will be a new mom to a greyound this Thursday!! :colgate I currently live in a home owned by three cats and I'm looking for advice on how to introduce the dog to the cats. If anyone has any tips/stories I would love to hear them.

Hello!

Stories? You want a long sorted tale of a cat and a Greyhound! I'm blogging mine because it was just tres bizzarro: http://www.cowprintdoggie.wordpress.com

But first off, cat safe? How 'bout making sure your cats are dog safe? ;) LOL. Seriously, my cat Llew *bit* the first Greyhound he met!