Fleas!

Guest SillyDog

Guest SillyDog

I just on Tuesday treated my two greys with Frontline. Since it's warm I used a whole dosage on each, rather than the 1/2 dosage I usually use. But last night (Fri.) I found 2 fleas on one and 1 flea on the other.

I looked through some previous posts about fleas and got a lot of good information. I'm going to the pet store today to get Adam's spray and a flea comb -- never needed one before! Here's the thing: is 3 fleas an infestation? And why are they there so soon after treating with Frontline? I'm also thinking about getting some nematodes for that back yard. They love to lie in the dirt and I'm sure that's where the fleas are coming from. The alternative that the fleas are coming from inside is hopefully not true. This is my first year in this apt. and the carpets were completely replaced. There are no hardwood floors, either, just fake linoleum. I will, however, be disposing of all vaccuum cleaner bags immediately after vaccuuming, just to be on the safe side.

Anyway, what else should I do? Is 3 fleas an infestation? I want to act appropriately so this doesn't get worse, but I don't want to over-react, either.

Thanks!

Cindy

I found two fleas on Sadi about a month ago after a stray dog I found spent ten minutes just inside our front door while I phoned the dog warden....I treated her with frontline and sprayed the house with some other stuff I got from the vets....haven't seen any more fleas yet :colgate

<p>"One day I hope to be the person my dog thinks I am"Sadi's Pet Pages Sadi's Greyhound Data PageMulder1/9/95-21/3/04 Scully1/9/95-16/2/05Sadi 7/4/99 - 23/6/13 CroftviewRGT

Guest lat41065

make sure you wash all bedding to catch any hiders. Id also put down mule team borax or DE in the carpet rungs to be sure.

I like Frontline for the doggies, Adams spray (if needed) for carpet, bedding, car.