Question About Stairs

Guest grey_dreams

Guest grey_dreams

I am a newbie who is dreaming about adopting a galgo. The problem is that I live in a 2-floor apartment located on the 4th and 5th floors of an apartment building that doesn't have an elevator. The great people at the adoption group tell me that stairs are not a problem. I have read so much invaluable advice and experience from all of you on this forum, that I would also like to get your advice about this. Do you think that I am just dreaming, or would this amount of stairs be a problem?

Many thanks in advance!

Guest akcpupontherun

You will be in great aerobic shape and have a fine looking rear end! The hound will look good too! Go for it! :D

by the way...welcome... there is a ton of terrific advice here.

Edited by akcpupontherun

Guest GreySibs

I used to live in a 4th floor apartment and although some fosters gave me a work out trying to get them upstairs, they ALL eventually figured it out. Some of them it did take a little while (which is where the work outs come in) and others got it right away. As long as you don't mind working on it then it won't be a problem. They will eventually figure it out.

Good luck!

Guest LuvXRacers

:blink: Pardon my ignorance, but what is a galgo?

If a galgo is another word for greyhound, then I can say that if the adoption agency has told you that stairs are not a problem, then they must have all of their greys in foster homes and they all must be used to stairs. Fresh from the track, most greys have never seen stairs, and being so long from nose to tail, it is a scarey position for them to be in. Most have to be trained and can get over their fears in no time. After they learn the stairs, THEN they'll be pulling you up the stairs!

Edited by LuvXRacers

Guest grey_dreams