Pra

We'd noticed some behavioral changes in Argus which led to a trip to the vet. Turns out, he has PRA (Progressive Rentinal Atrophy). He still has vision and is only having problems in dark rooms/hallways and his pupils no longer change with the light - they're dilated all the time.

I was just wondering who else has a GH with this? Any words of wisdom you'd care to share? We're still trying to digest that fact that he is going to go blind.

Thanks.

Robin - Cordova (Memphis), TN

Argus (BB's Turbo) #86152 Oswald Cobblepot X Hilary Pride

Butler (GoodOleBoyRoy) #92232 Castor Troy X Princess Josie

Bridge Angel Callie (Tom S Macaroon) #87886 Black Streaker X Tom S Megan, April 15, 2000 - November 3, 2012

Guest jerrybird

I have no experience with PRA but my lad was totally blind in one eye and had partial sight in the other. You might want to check out this web site www.blinddogs.com

My Lynch has PRA and was blind by the time he was 3. He's almost 10 and doing great!! I am very surprised at how easy having a blind dog has been, it's really a non-issue for the most part.

Teaching certain commands such as 'step up, step down, stop, back up (the MOST useful), watch your head,' and more I can't think of right now.

Good luck, I'm sure you and Argus will do great!

Guest KennelMom

Our girl Hanna is completely blind at 7 1/2 from PRA. She was pretty much already blind before we even had a clue, if that tells you how well she acclimated. I think the most difficult part of her diagnosis were my feelings about it. It was really hard for me to not feel sorry for her...I cried a lot that first week or two. Hanna got a chunky little butt from all the extra treats :rolleyes: And then I accepted it. She accepted it long before I did.