Tpn Line May Be Need For Penny

Penny may need a TPN line placed in the next 24-48 hours. Does anyone have experience

with this? Mainly I want to know if it's painful for a grey to have this in their neck. The doctor

says no, but I can't imagine that it wouldn't at least be uncomfortable.

I'd love to hear positive experiences only, but I want to know both good and bad.

It may be a life or death decision.....

2wck1zc.jpg

A TPN line is just a regular central line (IV) inserted into a large vein, closer to the heart (as opposed to a peripheral line, a plain old IV in the leg or wherever). It shouldn't cause her any pain. I'm sure they explained TPN to you, so I won't go into that, but the line itself shouldn't be a problem for her. And she's in the ICU, so central line care is probably second nature to them there.

I have no experience with dog central lines/TPN, only human....but same principle.

Maryann, Bama (TW Beltram), Stephanie (Tom's Stepinhi) & Henderson the Cardigan Welsh Corgi

I have no experience with pets and TPN lines but with people~our patients have no problems. Sending more hugs and prayers. :grouphug

Usethisone.jpg

Patti-Mommy of Lady Sophia 7-28-92 - 8-3-04... LaceyLaine 8-2-94-12-5-07...

Flash Gordon 7-14-99 - 8-29-09... BrookLynne...Pavé Maria... and 18 Bridge Kids.

WATCHING OVER US~SOPHIA~QUEENIE~LACEY LAINE~

CODY ANGELO~FLASH GORDON.