Could Use Some Advice...

Guest HeatherDemps

Guest HeatherDemps

Several times today, when Dempsey has tried to move from a lying down position to sitting up, he has started yelping really loudly. We have noticed some muscles in his chest and neck, etc quivering, so I think it could be muscle tension from him having to more heavily use those muscles. Tonight, I tried massaging him some, but I'm not sure if it is helping and I also am afraid of hurting him. Anyone have any advice on what to do? When I've taken him out the last few times, he seems more stiff when trying to get around.

Guest vahoundlover

I have no experience, but it does sound like he his tight and sore...Did you try doing a search for message on here? Seems to me another GTer recently posted about messaging their amputee.

It could be simple muscle cramps - in which case massage should help - but it could also be that the muscles are 'guarding' an injury or a damaged disc. I'd get him looked at if massage doesn't help pretty instantly.

To massage, use the flat of your hands, and gently but firmly rub them down/along the muscle in the direction of the hair using a rhythmic motion. If you feel more confident, you can use a circular motion. If you've ever given anyone a neck rub, you'll know the way to do it.

If he's not comfortable with you doing that, then chances are it's more than spasm and he should be seen. JMHO.

Mine get spasms from time to time. If we're out, Renie (the Princess) will give the GSOD and gracefully sink to the ground. Sometimes she'll roll right over onto her side, quite the little drama queen. :lol

Jack gets very tight across the base of the neck and behind his shoulders. A gentle massage will free him up nicely. :)

GTAvatar-2015_zpsb0oqcimj.jpg

The plural of anecdote is not data

Brambleberry Greyhounds My Etsy Shop

Guest Jessbooch