Adopting A Retired Racer In March

Guest IcyNinja

Guest IcyNinja

Hi All,

I have begun the process of adopting a retired racer in March. I'm waitintg until March because I'm a teacher and happen to have a few weeks off for a Spring Break, which will give me lots of time with my new dog until I have to leave him/her for work.

I'm going to use one of these orginizations: SteelCity Greyhounds or Going Home Greyhounds

I'm a single homeowner, and I have a fenced in backyard. I hope I'm approved to adopt one of these big guys. I want a girl for some reason, but realize that's a bit silly to insist on gender.

Oh well. I thought I would just introduce myself. If anyone has any advice on greyhounds, let me know. I'm reading all the books and pretty much know what I'm getting into.

Guest ohgreyt

Congrats and welcome! This is a greyt site and the people here are very helpful. I just adopted my first grey in November. It has been an adventure. They teach you a lot! Mira is young-she didn't make it through racing school (yeah me!). She has been such a greyt addition to our family and such a fun companion. I love her to death. Good luck to you and feel free to post any questions you have. Reading the books is a greyt place to start!!!

Guest SquanHound

Welcome and congrats on choosing to adopt!! I would recommend Retired Racing Greyhounds for Dummies and Adopting the Racing Greyhound. I read a ton while I waited (sometime not so patiently :blush ) for my Ping. I was surprised to find both of these in my library, although I bought my own edition of Dummies for a reference guide. One piece of advice - don't let what you read scare you off. I thought I was getting a glass dog from what I had read, but in reality they are quite durable pups.

Guest IcyNinja

I have already read "Greyhounds" by Caroline Collie and am in the process of reading the dummies book. These are required reading for those orginizations.

Guest SquanHound