Switched Kibble -- Stool Now Too Firm?

When we moved up north, I slowly switched the hounds from Verus chicken/rice kibble (which is more expensive/scarce up here) to TOTW Pacific Stream. It seemed like a good time to change their protein source since they'd really only had Verus since we got them both (18 months and 12 months respectively). I was reticent to switch before because the Verus worked really, REALLY well for both.

[incidentally, I'm a noob over here on the food threads, but there seem to be two schools of thought: 1) switch up the protein source every once in a while vs. 2) if it ain't broke, don't fix it. At least among those who feed kibble as opposed to raw or fresh. Is there any consensus on this?]

Anyway, the transition from Verus to TOTW lasted about 12 days as I weaned them off by a half-cup every 4 days or so. They were fine during the transition, and now that they're 100% TOTW, Kali is doing great, maybe even better than before. Brooks, on the other hand, immediately started having to strain much harder as soon as he was 100% TOTW. Over the first 18 months we had him, we were used to light brown, barrel-sized, ripe banana-like poos -- never overly mucousy, appearing very healthy, and a pretty significant daily amount! Since going 100% TOTW about 10 days ago, his first stool after any meal is a bit darker and much more pebbly, about the size and shape of about five or six double-sized almonds. Another difference is that, on a long walk (2.5 or 3 miles every mid-morning), I'm used to him having a second or third (or fourth!) poo that eventually looks like barely-digested breakfast, but it's now rare for him to have more than two stops on a walk and the overall amount pales in comparison to what he used to produce.