What Is The Best Way To Disinfect A Dog Run?

Guest dsszarzi

Guest dsszarzi

Hi,

I'm new to Greytalk.

Two of my three Greyhounds have diarrhea due to Clostridia. Both are currently on meds.

They are inside dogs, but by using a doggy door, can go outside in the dog run whenever they want. The dog run is the whole west side of our yard. The surface of the dog run is crushed granite (very permeable). I pick up their poops 2-3 times a day and we hose down the granite once a week. Obviously hosing down with just water is not enough. I have been told I can use bleach and water or Roccal to disinfect my dog run. Is bleach effective to kill the bacteria? If so, what would the bleach to water dilution ratio be? I want to use something that is safe for my hounds. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Tricky. You'll never get rid of 100% without popping the gravel into an autoclave, but you can knock it back some.

I'd begin by picking up all the bulk material; get out any feces, wetting them down with a spray bottle carrying 10% bleach before picking them up with gloves or a bag. Spray down the immediate area.

Get a garden sprayer- a 2-1/2 or 5 gallon pump sprayer, and put in a couple of gallons of 10% bleach. Add a couple of drops of wetting agent like dishwashing detergent, and mix thoroughly. Cover as much of the area as possible. Thoroughly coat the area. Allow to dry before releasing dogs again.

There is also "Virkon," a veterinary disinfectant. If you're in the UK, it's easier to find. Otherwise, you'll end up buying a 5-pound container for almost $100, and since bleach works so well, there's no reason to go nuts over it.

Also note that you can muzzle your dogs along with a poop cup if you're worried about fecal-oral transmission. Wash down the paws before they come in if you wish.

Coco (Maze Cocodrillo)

Minerva (Kid's Snipper)

Guest ChasesMum

Since bleach solution will kill parvovirus, I guess I think I'd trust it to kill clostridium too.