Harness Advice

Hey all, apologies for posting a lot but I'm new to this and the advice here is phenomenal!

Spoke to a few trainers etc and it seems a harness is a good idea for our Smithy. He's a bit anxious outside around other dogs, so it will give me more control and hopefully be better for him too. Could potentially help us with stair training also.

I suppose my real questions is how do we effectively use it? I spoke to a lady who told me to have his usual collar and lead PLUS the harness and lead and to hold both. Another person said I can get a lead that attaches his harness AND collar together so I can just hold one thing.

I'm getting the Rufferwear front range one which seems to be good, so what additional lead(s) do I need to get?

Not sure I can be much help with this one, but it’s another case where opinions will differ. We use a cheap harness we bought from the dog’s trust when we got him. It’s made from tough webbing, which I covered with jersey material as it was a bit rough on his tender skin. I use a six foot rope-like lead with reflective threads that I got from Amazon. These work well for us as I was always worried about pulling on his neck if he wanted to go one way I wanted to go the other. With the harness, I can virtually pick him up and extract him from any sticky situations and I’m not worried about hurting him.

I think others feel that putting a dog in a harness means he can pull harder against you - which is probably true - but if you’re strong enough to resist his pull then you should be alright. My preference is for the harness with a single lead but that’s just me.

Does the ruffwear harness have a handle? Some harnesses do, which could help you with stair training.

Buddy Molly 🌈 5/11/10-10/10/23

I think GT member Jetcitywoman sells the harness/collar connectors.  https://www.hound-safe.com/

https://www.hound-safe.com/collections/collars-leashes-harnesses/products/leash-safety-strap

Edited by macoduck