Preparing for first retired greyhound

Hi, we are in the process of adopting a retired greyhound from kennels near London. Quick question. Can greyhounds use blankets themselves? (I’m a total dog novice!) Our hallway is quite cold, but there’s a great place there outside our bedroom door under the stairs for a dog bed. We are happy for our new dog to sleep on the floor in our bedroom initially, but due to the TINY size of our bedroom we expect he will end up happy to sleep in the hall with our bedroom door open eventually. (Or he will regularly risk getting tripped over!)
So, for warmth, do I get a cave type dog bed (expensive) or would any old thing do with some blankets which the dog could use himself? Happy to buy the cave dog bed if it would be the right solution.

Ours has a dog bed and 3 blankets in our room.  He (and most greyhounds) will "make" their beds, often at 3AM for some reason.  You can google it to see what I mean.

Rule of thumb is softer is better.  They don't have body fat or lots of hair, so the softer the surface the better.

If he is really at risk of being tripped over, I'd encourage you to move him.   You do not want to trip over a sleeping greyhound.  

He'll do better if he sleeps in your room.  They are pack animals and you will become his new pack.

You should also search for greyhound coats and jammies. There are loads of small business that make them. I have some very thick ones from a lady called Izzy and finns hound boutique and they keep mine toasty in our house, which is also quite cold.