Osteo- when did you know it was time?

I realize that this is a sad and sensitive topic, as so many of you have been through it.  

I had a thread on Nova’s limp and diagnosis of an obviously cancerous tumor on her right scapula a couple of weeks ago.  Due to her age and overall health, she’s receiving palliative care.  The pain meds are working well, and at this time, she’s living a relatively normal life.  The difficulty in that, especially as a person who tends towards intense optimism, is having to realistically remind myself that, while the meds are making her feel better, she’s not actually getting better.

For those of you who have been there before- was there a point when things started to decline and you knew it was time to let your hound go?  I have this constant internal battle of wanting to be so careful to not be selfish and keep her for too long, but at the same time, not wanting to prematurely end her time with me.  This is my first time dealing with osteo, and I’m doing the best that I can to know what to expect.  

Laura, mom to Luna (Boc's Duchess) and Nova (Atascocita Venus).
Forever in my heart, Phantom (Tequila Nights) and Zippy (Iruska Monte).

The obvious answer is when the max dose of pain meds don’t control the pain. Don’t hesitate to ramp up the dose, BTW, if you see any signs of pain. That said, it isn’t always that clear. My two osteo dogs both broke their legs before I even knew there was anything wrong (and the screaming was the absolute worst thing I have ever heard), but I have had two other dogs with other types of cancer, and I could see they were in pain and tired of fighting and ready to go. I have also had pets, cats and one dog, that never gave me “the sign”, I just had to  make the call, best guess.

i guess what I am saying is, other than the obvious pain thing, you just have to go with your knowledge of your dog. Sometimes you have to be the grown up and make the hard decision, and that really sucks. :grouphug