How do I get my Greyhound to move?

Hi guys, newbie here.  I adopted just three days ago, and finding help with this issue has been darn near impossible online.  I don't think the verbal advice has been the greatest from the adoption agency or fosters either, so here's what's going on:

I have an 8-year-old former racer.  I rent a basement right now, and use the walkout slider to go in and out with her.  Backyard is fully-privacy fenced.  She definitely knows where the gate is.  The problem is that when we are done with our walk she just freezes in the driveway and wont return to the back yard.  A couple times I've gotten her 10 feet from the gate and she just wont go further.  I don't want to push her the rest of the way anymore for obvious reasons, and I'm not thrilled about having to carry her to the gate from the driveway.  Is there any way I can fast-track her adjustment to this new situation?  Not sure she has fully realized where "home" is.

Thanks so much

Elliot K

P.S. One recommendation was to get a harness and to lift her using the straps on it so I have control over the front of her body.  Still, I'd rather she just be comfortable going through the gate.  Other doors are not an option as we have crazy stairs leading to my living area.

P.S.S.  I am the rookiest of all rookie dogs owners.  Going bold with the racer as the first one.

Edited by Gopherhawk