Tips ?! For A New Grey Owner !

Guest Amos93

Guest Amos93

Hello all. newbie here! *wave*

Me and my partner are thinking of adopting two ex racers from our local greyhound rescue. We have chosen the dogs who have been kennelled together until we take them home so they can get to know each other. We have a home check scheduled this week so hoping that goes well!

The thing I want to ask is: does anyone have any tips for their first night in our home and how I can make them feel as relaxed and safe as possible?

We live in a 3 storey Home and we were going to put the dogs in the kitchen at night time so they are confined and if any messes happen it is easy to clean. I have read that some ex racers dont like the stairs etc so getting them up two flights to our bedroom sounds tiring haha (but would give it a go if it meant a good nights sleep!) would it be easier or harder with x2 greys? I think it will be tough but my partner doesnt think so. The reason we are having 2 is so they have company whilst I am out at work (6 hours a day).

Theyd be getting 1 30-45 minutes walk in the morning before I go to work and then maybe an hour when me and OH are home.

Any tips / tricks for helping them to settle in would be amazing!

Congratulations in advance on getting your greys!

I don't have experience with two new dogs at once. But putting two new ones far away -- where you won't be able to correct any pee/poop mistakes until morning, when they won't know what you're trying to correct them on, and you won't know who did what, sounds like setting yourself up for a few problems.