Liver Enzymes Too High To Read At Vet's

It's not Bowie, but my friend's 7 year old greyhound. Listless, skin on belly was slightly yellow, didn't want to eat. They took her to the vet today and her liver enzymes were too high to read, so they did a few extra tests and sent her to an animal ER. RBC normal for a grey, WBC slightly elevated. On-duty vet at ER is FIXATED on the dog's raw diet, but other thoughts from regular vet are lepto, salmonella, e-coli, cancer, hepatitis.

So I'm here asking those with lots of experience - thoughts?

Edited by seeh2o

Sunsands Doodles: Doodles aka Claire, Bella Run Softly: Softy aka Bowie (the Diamond Dog)

Missing my beautiful boy Sunsands Carl 2.25.2003 - 4.1.2014

I'm really no expert, but my mom's dog has had liver issues so I've done some research. I'm curious what the vet thinks her raw diet would have to do with it? So many possible reasons for elevated liver values. Was this an acute onset or had she been having even vague symptoms or seemed "off" leading up to this? If the former, and given the elevated WBC count it being something like a toxin or infection makes sense. I'd test for lepto and other relevant bacteria and possibly treat prophylactically while waiting for results, and do an ultrasound to look for tumors. I'd also get her on milk thistle and Sam-E asap. There are also things like Cushing's, pancreatitis, etc to consider. But if it were me, first thing I'd be doing is switching to a vet who isn't looking at diet to the exclusion of other things at my first opportunity.

Edited by NeylasMom

gallery_12662_3351_862.jpg

Jen, CPDT-KA with Zuri, lab in a greyhound suit, Violet, formerly known as Faith, Skye, the permanent puppy, Cisco, resident cat, and my baby girl Neyla, forever in my heart

"The great thing about science is that you're free to disagree with it, but you'll be wrong."