Raffle 12/4/2004-5/25/2018 Rip

Guest rafflehuseman

Guest rafflehuseman

I'm new to this page today as I posted on the health forum today looking for some reassurance. I am full of guilt and 2nd guessing after losing my baby girl, Raffle, a week ago today. I'm not married, no children, and it has just been her and I the last 10 years. She was the most awesome dog and we had a special bond. I can't stop crying and hate being at home because all I think about is her. Please read my post from earlier today for details on how I lost her. I can't get out of my mind what she went through that day, it is awful to think about her possibly having a stroke, falling down the stairs, and then laying there for hours (scared and unable to get up)until I got home from work. Awful awful awful And if I would have known that would be the last day I would see her I would have given her extra love that day and week. I had come home for lunch to walk her that day, as I have done on my lunch break for the last 10 years. I was in a rush as I had to get back to work and was impatient with her when we were outside as I was in a hurry, etc I gave her a treat inside but then rushed back out the door without giving her much attention or love. I had no idea I would lose her that night and can't get over the guilt although I know I had been a good mommy to her overall the last 10 years.

Does it get any easier? I haven't been able to put away any of her things yet so there are constant reminders of her everywhere around my condo. Do you all find it easier to put their things away (dog beds, dishes, toys, etc) so you don't see those reminders? And they called me today to tell me her ashes are ready to be picked up. I can't bear the thought of it yet.

Have any of you experienced guilt over the loss of your grey or making the decision to euthanize? How did you get through it? It's been a week and I'm feeling worse about it instead of better...I miss her terribly