New And Looking To Adopt.

MDBeland

Hello,

My wife and I are in our late 40's have two children (both girls 11 and 14). All we have had were stray cats that we rescued and kept as indoor pets. Our latest just passed - 15 yo orange tabby - wonderful big cat with huge personality and very social - we miss him dearly. For the past 3 months we have been without a pet in our house since being married.

I have always been interested in dogs and I have been doing a lot of research. For one I would like a dog so I can have the pleasure of actually going out for nice walks with a k9 companion on a regular basis. In my research I found that greyhounds might fit our family lifestyle better than other breeds or just trying to go to our local shelter and gambling on a rescue mixed dog. I'm still apprehensive about getting a dog due to our family with everyone's schedules.

1. I am a high school teacher and athletic trainer. My hours at work can be very long on occasion, but I am mostly off of work for 2 weeks in December and about 6 weeks during the summer. A typical day for me during the school year is I am at work by 6:50am and home around 6:30pm with an occasional 1 - 2 nights a week where I dont get off work until 10pm due to athletic events.

2. My wife works part time and leaves the house around 7am to take my youngest to school, returns home around 8:15am and then leaves for work at 9:45am. She works from 10am-2pm then heads to carpool and returns home around 3:45pm.

My concern is that the dog will be home alone for around 5-6 hours a day for 5 days a week.

Thinking this through I plan on trying to get the dog on a set schedule to limit the number of accidents inside the house:

1. I would take the dog for brief walks in the mornings at 5:30am before I leave for work.

2. My wife/daughters would take the dog out for a bathroom break when they get home at 3:45.

3. I would take the dog out for an extended walk when I get home around 6:30pm.