Hi From Lancashire, Uk

badwolf

Hi everyone :ghplaybow

I have owned (and been around) dogs for almost half a century (damn I feel old lol), and have had a variety of breeds in the past (Labs, GSDs, Rotties, Collies, Lurchers) but when it comes to Greyhounds, I am a total noob! So I apologise for this really stupid question I'm about to ask :haha

This is about Age and accuracy of ear marks. As I said I'm a total noob with retired Greyhounds so please be gentle :rolleyes:

Basically, do ex-racers age quicker than non-racers and how accurate are the marks (with regards to age)?

I volunteer at my local RSPCA rehoming centre and last Sunday decided to foster an ex-racer that has been with us for a couple of months (and I will be adopting her). According to her paperwork, she is 11 years old and was registered in Ireland. Unfortunately I think the paperwork is all wrong as her tattoos bear no similarity to what's on the paperwork (she was rescued with two others - that went to another centre - so I think the paperwork got messed up). According to her actual tattoos, she should only be 6 years old but instead of black she is very grey in the face and her eyes are slightly cloudy and has quite worn down teeth. Apart form that she seems in good physical condition but does wince occasionally randomly (arthritis?). Just wondering if these are features of ex-racers or whether her tattoos are wrong (and she is actually 5 years older than they indicate).