Orijen Feeders Question

75 lb male, 3 hours walking per day average, most of it off-leash, so more scampering around than compared to leash walking.

Just switched from raw to Orijen Adult. Guidlines say about two cups a day which seems far too little. I understand that kibble is calorie dense compared to raw, it's just that I have no kibble experience having raw fed all my dogs.

I am good at watching my dogs physique to maintain weight but I would like to start off with close to the correct amount. Any advice is appreciated.

(Because I know your curious, I switched away from raw because I suspected it was leading to regular 2:00 AM turnout. Yesterday was the first full kibble day and presto - no middle of the night turnout. Seems the raw resulted in many very small bowel movements.)

I wasn't a raw feeder overall with Aston, but I fed him raw turkey necks to clean his teeth (and for his entertainment :lol ). I noticed that the high bone content would stop him up a bit compared to usual output. I know little to nothing about raw feeding, so I could be off-base, but have you tried feeding raw with a bit more bone to see if that condenses bowel movements to fewer times per day, maybe that would take the night pooping out? Only wondering this because I think this is the first time I've heard of a higher frequency of output with all-raw, based on GT threads/mentions.

I fed Aston Orijen for a very short time (cut out just due to cost), but I do recall thinking that the amount seemed tiny for him -- we maintained him at 72lb. He seemed fine, but we only fed it for a few weeks, so I don't know if it would have resulted in weight loss long-term. He did get cookies outside of the Orijen ration, so it wasn't a controlled experiment.

Signed,
Was that even helpful? lol