5Y/o Favoring Hind Right Paw On Snow

Guest czythought

Guest czythought

Hi all,

I got my sweet 5 y/o girl about two months ago so I am still learning.

We have had our first big snow up here in MN. Occasionally when we are walking (short lazy potty walks mostly right now) she seems like she doesn't want to put weight on her back right paw and will occasionally hop a few steps without putting it down. She doesn't seem to be in any pain and she walks normally inside. Is there something I should look for on her paw or something I should put on it? There aren't any obvious cuts/wounds/abrasions but I haven't looked between her toes too thoroughly.

She fell off the couch a few days ago (she does this often.... rolls over off of it) and maybe she pulled her leg?

Any advice?

Thanks!

I'd give booties a go if you can. I buy rather affordable and disposable Pawz (size purple). Ryder can only go around the corner and back when its cold with snow and salt, but with little booties can walk for much longer periods. Some are just more tolerable with cold on their feets than others. I know I wouldn't wanna go bare foot! :) If she isn't favouring it in the house, than it's likely just outside and she's cold.

Enjoy your new pup.

Proudly owned by:
10 year old "Ryder" CR Redman Gotcha May 2010
12.5 year old Angel "Kasey" Goodbye Kasey Gotcha July 2005-Aug 1, 2015

My Phoebe always holds her right rear leg up when going outside in the cold/snow. I think it's because that was the one she broke (which ended her career and got her her beloved couch :lol). She only does it when it's very cold and/or snowy.

Couldyour dog have broken that leg in the past?

Phoebe (Belle's Sweetpea) adopted 9/2/13.

Jack (BTR Captain Jack) 9/28/05--11/2/12
Always missing Buddy, Ruby, and Rascal.