Nervous New Mom Or Separation Anxiety?

Hi all,

I've perused the many threads on separation anxiety but haven't found exactly the answer I'm looking for. I adopted my first greyhound about 2.5 weeks ago. From the beginning, I have left him alone for some amount of time every day (hugely variable -- short outings and a few longer outings up to 6 hours. I am a college professor so my summer schedule is variable but I've been forcing myself to leave enough to teach him a work day schedule). He is gated to stay in about half the house and wears his muzzle when alone because I still don't trust him 100% with the cat (who can come and go in the whole house and to the fenced yard). So far no accidents, incidents with the cat, etc. Often he follows me to the door when I leave, but not always.

I have a video camera to check on him when I am away and I see that while he spends most of his day sleeping on various pieces of living room furniture, he also gets up a few times a day to check the front and garage doors (I leave out of both) and whines for maybe 30 seconds (occasionally a little longer). Then he settles himself back to sleep on a couch.

Here's my question: is the intermittent whining/door checking indicative of something starting with separation anxiety? Or am I just being a nervous new mom? Will he simply adapt to my being gone and whine less? I don't mind the whining/checking in theory, but I want to be sure he is doing ok!

Guest k9soul

From what you describe it sounds to me like he's actually doing really well. It could be he hears someone go by or hears a car door perhaps and whimpers maybe thinking you might be coming back. He is probably just learning what to expect and with your variable times being gone maybe feels some confusion about when to expect you back. I really think it sounds like he is adjusting quickly though and probably will only settle and relax more as more time goes by and he becomes used to your routines.