Benefits Of Having More Than One Grey?

Guest KEWood

Guest KEWood

I would love to hear stories of how adopting a 2nd grey for your first to have a buddy was beneficial, what unanticipated issues you may have encountered, and if you would recommend it. Our almost 4 year old male gets very happy when he sees other friendly dogs on his walks (wiggles, tail wags, approaches and sniffs), so I know he likes other dogs. I'm wondering, in particular, if it would help with separation anxiety (chewing on occasion), and to help him be a little more lively. He doesn't ever really like to play......

I have no concrete experience to offer (we only ever had one at a time) but my first thought when I read your title of "Benefits of having more than one grey?" was "You have more than one grey!"

Typically, from what I've seen at the kennel, greys with grey friends are happier greys. That's not to say that all greys need grey friends to be happy, though. A friend has a greyhound who got so stressed when he had to share his space that he had the Big D all over the place.

Is fostering an option? Or even grey-sitting a friend's grey to see how your pup does with another grey in your home?

Mom of bridge babies Regis and Dusty.

Wrote a book about shelter dogs!

I sell things on Etsy!

Company for eachother when they are home alone. Even though mine were not a bonded pair or rarely if ever played together, I am certain that Ryder enjoyed just having another hound around, even though I think Kasey could really care less. This is evident in Ryder's massive change in behaviour after Kasey passed away. So for me, the only benefit (because they didn't care for eachother) was solely for company....just something else in the house even if they don't cuddle when their human is away.

Edited by XTRAWLD

Proudly owned by:
10 year old "Ryder" CR Redman Gotcha May 2010
12.5 year old Angel "Kasey" Goodbye Kasey Gotcha July 2005-Aug 1, 2015