Separation Anxiety And Dog Park Injury

Guest Abairdgal

Guest Abairdgal

We adopted our boy, Hank, in January. We started off with a very nervous dog, who had diarrhea for three months and finally has a negative fecal sample as of this past Monday.

When we first got Hank, he whined anytime we left him home alone. We started with interval training and he couldn't even handle thirty seconds. Once we shut our condo door, he started yelling. We tried to let him work through it and recorded him, but it went on for three solid hours. We got home, he went to sleep and napped for 18 straight hours, mainly because he exhausted himself.

He then started being destructive and self-harming (I'm a therapist in real life, so it's kinda funny how similar dogs are to humans). He chewed the crate apart, we would come home to him bleeding, and e urinated every day in the crate from panicking. He would be panting with nose drip puddles everywhere. We sought tons of help from our vet, who suggested medication. We eventually worked on him handling being in the crate with us at home, which was not a problem at all. Then we added PB Kongs, bones, toys, etc. and music, tv and even made a puppy playlist on YouTube for him while we were gone. It just made him yelp louder to be heard over the sound. We tried leaving him out with a muzzle on, and he knocked over a dresser, the night stands, the tv stand, chairs, and scratched up the front door. We tried leaving him out with the muzzle off, he chewed the door frames, any corner of the walls he could get, and scratched the front door more.