8 Hours Alone?

Guest Jordan33

Guest Jordan33

Hi,

I'm new to Greys, hoping to adopt my first in two weeks! I'm taking two weeks of vacation to spend with my dog and am planning on leaving for short periods so she knows I'm coming back.

My biggest question though is whether I can/should leave her alone for 8 hours when I go back to work. I'm assuming 8 hours in a crate would be too long without a potty break. I live alone and while I theoretically could get home on my lunch break, it would be a tight fit into the schedule, and more stress than it might be worth.

Does anyone have thoughts or recommendations? Thanks! I'd like to make sure I know what I'm doing before she comes home.

Same with us here. We found a dog walker we trusted who could come walk Marvin some time during the day if we knew it was going to be an extra long day. Otherwise, babygates and a few comfy nap spot choices, and our hound was perfectly fine. It actually seems to bug him a bit when I work from home now, as he likes his full day nap routine. Just get your new girl on a schedule where she does her business outside right before you leave for work, and you'll be good to go. Congratulations on your soon-to-be hound!

Never had a problem with 8 hours, maybe with a super senior, but I wouldn't worry about it.

Beth, Petey (8 September 2018- ), and Faith (22 March 2019). Godspeed Patrick (28 April 1999 - 5 August 2012), Murphy (23 June 2004 - 27 July 2013), Leo (1 May 2009 - 27 January 2020), and Henry (10 August 2010 - 7 August 2020), you were loved more than you can know.

My guys are fine with 8 hours. I usually come home at lunch and they won't even go potty when I put them out in the backyard. I do exercise them before and after work. I personally wouldn't crate 8 hours, but mine have free roam of the house.