To Crate Or Not To Crate - A Separation Anxiety Problem

Guest SoleSky

Guest SoleSky

I adopted Suki a little over a month ago, and things have been great so far! She is well adjusted to home life, loves sleeping and lazing around, enjoys her food, squeakers, doing zoomies at the park with friends. All around she is an excellent dog. We just have one problem... Separation Anxiety.

I am a veterinary student and my schedule is like a normal work day. Usually I leave around 7:30am and come home around 12:00pm to let her out and go back to class around 1:00pm and get home around 4:00 pm. I have been kenneling her during that time and she gets a lot of goodies: Frozen kong with PB + treats, nylabones, safe toys, etc. She has a bed and a blanket in there as well. I have been giving every meal inside of the crate. Most treats have been in the crate. Raw turkey necks - in the crate, etc.

I'm trying really hard to positively associate the crate. When I come home, she is not allowed out until she is calm, which she has learned very quickly. I set up a camera while I'm at school so I can watch her and I noticed that she whines and pants a lot. Has trouble settling down. Unfortunately, this week she chewed up her crate tray which was extremely worrisome as there may have been sharp pieces - however she passed a few and has been acting fine. I switched it to a horse stall mat, which is very thick and basically impenetrable. Then I noticed that she may have bent one of the crate bars slightly and I'm worried about her fracturing teeth.

I started supplementing her with melatonin (3mg) in the morning before class. I also bought a calming spray that I apply to her paws and back fur - this just got here today. I have a radio that plays while she is gone as well. It seemed like the melatonin was working - until the most recent incidents.