New And Anxious

Guest picopaco

Guest picopaco

Hello! I'm new to dog ownership and must confess I have worked myself into quite a tizzy since adopting our 2-year old a couple weeks ago. I've always been uneasy around large dogs, particularly those that bark or come on hyper or aggressive. Over the last few months, I started thinking that it would be nice to have a dog companion to add to my little family unit of my husband and me. We did a lot of research about what breed would be the best fit and eventually settled on a greyhound. I've known quite a few people who have adopted them from rescues and what most appealed to me was how they are docile, don't bark, and are characterized as one of the least aggressive (toward humans) breeds. But when we adopted our grey, I suddenly found myself face to face with the reality that this is a large, strong dog, with very quick reflexes who hasn't necessarily been socialized to being the family pet. I felt scared, especially the more I read on forums like this.