Petplan Vs Healthy Paws

Guest SoleSky

Guest SoleSky

Hello all,

I just adopted my new girl Suki. She is a 2 1/2 year old black female. So far she seems to be in good health and our first vet appointment is next week. I am a veterinary student living in Kentucky and with PetPlan I get a 20% discount for being in the veterinary field. However, I was wondering if anyone had experience with the two and which one would be the better option?

I know HealthyPaws has an annual deductible - does PetPlan have that too? Or it is per incident that you need to pay the deductible? As far as receiving the refund check, what experience have you had with either of them?

I have heard that if there is a pre-existing condition, such as a UTI, they try and link the pre-existing condition with other conditions to avoid payment. Have you had this experience?

I would appreciate any advice!

Thank you.

I don't know anything about PetPlan. Sorry. I've used Healthy Paws for 3 years and except for minor, and unusual, delays in payment this past summer, I have no complaints. I don't know why acknowledgement and reimbursement were delayed, but once summer was over, they went back to normal, with normal being acknowledgement of a claim within 24 hours and payment received within 7-10 days.

Claims to Healthy Paws can be submitted via an app on a smart phone. It's easy peasy. Once the account is established, take a picture of the invoice and hit "submit."

Healthy Paws representatives are always available, and if for some reason everybody is busy, someone takes your number and calls back within an hour or two.

The company has choices for deductibles and percentage of repayment. I currently have a $250 annual deductible (*not* per incident) with a 90% reimbursement rate. The monthly premiums is $42 and change, which I considerable OK for my 8-year-old Annie.