Thinking About Adopting A Grey But Have A Few Questions

Guest SoleSky

Guest SoleSky

Hello! I am new to the greyhound world and am thinking about adding a grey to my life but I have a few questions that I would love to have answered from the experts.

My first question is, how do greys do with an 8:00am-4:00pm schedule? I am a veterinary student and usually begin classes at 8:00am and finish the day around 3:30-4:00pm. I can usually make it home for an hour lunch break to let them out but there are some days when I cannot make it home. Most students have pets and theirs seem to do fine but I wasn't sure how a grey would do.

Second, I've heard they can have separation anxiety. I've dealt with fosters (not greys) with this problem before but it can be difficult to correct. Do many greyhounds have this issue and do they tend adjust over time?

Third, I am looking into adopting an older greyhound (she is 7) and I was wondering what sort of health problems I should be looking out for at this age? Hypothyroidism and osteosarcoma? Are they prone to arthritis?

My life style is very laid back as far as energy goes. I don't usually have the time to take long walks or go for runs but there is a park nearby that many students bring their dogs and it is fenced in so would be a good place to take the grey a few times a week. I also would be able to do two 20 minute walks a day in addition to all the potty breaks. I tend to take naps when I have the time and enjoy little outings like a small hike or walk around the neighborhood. I was looking for a grey because their lifestyle seemed to fit well with mine.

I am so excited to take the next step in adopting one but I just want to make sure I am doing right by the dog and that he/she will be happy. Do you think that my lifestyle will fit well with a grey?