Injury Recovery Question

Guest Dancer

Guest Dancer

My pup Stolie had a collision with his 'brother' at the dog park 6 days ago. It was pretty much at a 90 degree angle...Checker (no brakes, no steering) was running full out...Stolie was doing his tripawd hop along. Stolie was sent flying and landed on his one and only shoulder.

We spent a lot of time at the e-vet...no broken bones...phew. Vet seemed to think it was soft tissue injury - so gave us pain meds. Stolie still seems to be in a lot of discomfort, and getting up is still quite painful. Anyone have experience with something like this?

I have another vet appointment...but what about chiropractor, accupuncture, laser?? Or is this just a matter of time?

I have some experience with this, in that my two collided a few years ago, although in their case it was head on. One of them developed partial seizures within 24 hours. Her brother initially seemed OK but within a few weeks developed intermittent front leg lameness. Our regular vet could find nothing wrong but a greyhound vet found a misaligned vertebra in his neck and told me that collisions are a common cause of this. We treated it with tramadol (my boy cannot have NSAIDs), valium as a muscle-relaxant, and then later with chiro when he was less painful.

Some soft tissue injuries can take quite a while to heal but I would be concerned that there may be an injury that hasn't been detected yet if he hasn't improved at all in 6 days. You said he's on pain meds - are these anti-inflammatories? Did he have xrays? If he doesn't improve soon and your vet cannot find anything wrong, might be worth getting him checked over by a chiropractor, who in my experience sometimes find things that vets miss. I have no experience with acupuncture or laser.

Will be interested to see what your vet thinks.

SunnySophiePegsdon.jpg