In Nw Arkansas, But From Florida...i Call It "temporary Assignment

Guest FloridaGirl

Guest FloridaGirl

Hey everyone! I've been lurking the boards for the better part of a few months doing my research and considering making an adopted grey a part of my little life. I just wanted to say how greytful (!) I am for this resource and all of you for being such amazing, informative, and kind people.

Please enjoy my long, long story!

I am on what I like to call "temporary assignment" here in Arkansas working on my master's degree (it's probably not going to be as temporary as all that, but it gives me hope that I'm not stuck here forever). I'm originally a Florida native, like my father and his father before me. Everything about the state is in my veins, and I sure do miss the clear, deep springs! Anyway, my passion in life is resource interp (essentially, park-rangering) and I needed to find a place I could live while I completed my degree - hence the voyage to Arkansas. Now I'm settled in for the long haul - this isn't going to be a quick process...I haven't been in academia in..........well, we won't say how long.

I have never been a "dog" person, and I seem to find myself most joyous around horses, bunnies, and other herbivores. (I even have two house rabbits, both rescues - Rory just turned 10y and Fiver is now 7y old) However, every time I met a greyhound I got a completely non-dog vibe (well, most of them - some of them were just as wiggly and silly as a lab). I've been curious about them for years since I met my first ex-racer while managing a vet clinic back home. I immediately started doing research on the breed, and specifically ex-racers. I was hooked. The more I met, the more it encouraged me to pursue adopting one. Of course, divorce happens, life gets a massive upheavel, and it takes years to get back on your feet. But the bunnies stuck with me, as did my desire to find the right grey for me. And it wasn't in the cards until now.