Thoughts On Dental Chews?

Guest ShannyTizzle

Guest ShannyTizzle

Hi guys! New to the forum. I've had my greyhound for a little over 5 months and I'm new to everything greyhound. One thing I'm concerned about is her dental health. I was wondering what you guys use to help them clean their teeth with chewing toys/bones. I've tried the DuraBone that a lot of people have mentioned, but she wouldn't touch it. Also tried the elk antler; she wouldn't touch it even after I boiled it in chicken broth. She's also had an all beef bone, but after just a little while I could see her breaking off pieces of the bone so I took it away immediately. Today, she went to PetCo to get her nails clipped (still afraid to do myself) and they gave her a Whimzee. She loved it, but I'm concerned with the horror stories of things getting lodged in dogs' stomachs or intestines. What are your thoughts on it, and/or do you have any other suggestions? All help is appreciated!

Never give any chew bone unsupervised.

Many people use raw, meaty bones (RMBs), as Summer's owner stated above. Chicken and turkey necks are most often done, but any raw part will do. Never give any sort of cooked bone.

You can find dozens of rawhide chews. There is a concern about them swallowing a large piece and choking. The granulated rawhide chews are a bit safer in that regard. MilkBone also has a new-ish dental product out that my dogs like, though they eat them so fast I doubt they are getting much benefit from them. You want the dog to chew, not break off and swallow.

Here in our house we use a variety of chewing options. After breakfast, they get a Pedigree Dentastick. During the day, they will probably get one or more sticks of granulated rawhide. After dinner they each get a small Busy Bone. This is what works for us.

We haven't tried the CET chews, or the other dental specific treats. A water additive did nothing for us.