New Behavior

Guest ms3569

I adopted my greyhound about 8 weeks ago. I started obedience training with him this past weekend. The trainer I'm using was recommended by the greyhound agency we adopted him from. She uses positive motivational/clicker training. Since his first class I've noticed some changes in his behavior. He won't take a treat from me especially if I have the clicker he will run. He ran from me this morning when I tried to put his Martingale collar on him. He also hasn't played with his toys or chewed a bone since-the weekend. Nothing negative happened during the training he was very good there. I wanted him to go to classes for socialization mostly but I would like for him to know a few basic commands. Has anyone experienced a change in behavior when starting obedience classes? I'm new to the breed and not sure what to do?

I know more people will chime in with good advice, but I always have to remind myself when I get a new dog how much I don't know about him/her. I had a grey once that did NOT like the clicker and it made her very anxious. Maybe just go to to the class and let your pup hang out, watch how the other dogs interact and make some friends. Really, 8 weeks is a VERY short time when you think about how different their lives are before being adopted.

Patience, patience and patience are your three best friends. Oh yeah, and lots of love :))

Edited by june

Sounds like the clicker scares him. Frankly the noise of it hurts MY ears, so, I can understand.

If you need him to get used to the clicker, pair the noise from it with some AMAZING treats (hot dogs or something VERY special that he REALLY REALLY REALLY likes).

Maybe find a way to muffle the noise of the clicker at first so it's not quite as disturbing?

Kristin in Moline, IL USA with Ozzie (MRL Crusin Clem), Clarice (Clarice McBones), Latte and Sage the IGs, and the kitties: Violet and Rose