Greyhounds With Cats Indoor Vs Outdoor

Guest KK_The_Grey

Guest KK_The_Grey

Hi gang!

I am getting my girl, Queenie in a couple of weeks (I'm a greyhound newbie) and I have a cat-related question.

When Queenie was retired, she was tested cat-safe. When our adoption group brought her to Canada, they have tested her again and she was, once again, deemed cat-safe. Our foster tells us that, when they are on walks, she is quite interested in cats and squirrels and wants to chase them.

I know that even greyhounds who live with cats indoors, can hunt down a cat once they are outside - it's a different world and different rules.

We have two cats but they are indoor-only. We live in an apartment, so there is no way for them to go anywhere anyway.

I was wondering if anyone has had a similar experience? Does any one have a greyhound who is interested in chasing cats outside but lives peacefully with them in the house?

Thanks!

Guest Greyt_dog_lover

I have multiple hounds that fit that bill. In fact my boy Bart is a certified cat zapper. He dispatched a stray cat that wandered into his yard when he was in foster. He lived with my two cats for nearly 5 years without a single incident. I would have no worries about adopting a hound that wants to chase cats outside. As long as your cats do not go outside, they will be fine. Understand though you will still have to acclimate the hound to your individual cats. Each cat has different mannerisms, so just because he ignored the cat in the test does not mean he will totally ignore your cat. I have been a cat tester for multiple groups and had 2 cats with nearly 15 different fosters and my 3 hounds so there are many hounds out there that can live with cats. Below is my routine for introducing your greyhound to cats:

Ok, I cut-and-pasted from a previous thread. I have been a cat tester for multiple groups as well as I foster greyhounds with my cats. Here is my method for the first few months I have new hounds in my house: