Hello From Virginia

Guest agreytday

Guest agreytday

Well, I joined the forum months and months ago but felt a bit overwhelmed with sorting out how a forum works...This is my first time to use one so hopefully, everyone will be patient with me while I learn the ropes.

I have been waiting to adopt a greyhound for years. I first met a greyhound at a pet store in 2012. There were dogs running around and then there were three big greyhounds just laying on the floor. Not moving one bit. Awake and assuming that everyone else would walk around them. I was fascinated and embarked upon my educational journey.

I started reading about greyhounds and learning as much as I could. Seemed like every online dog breed quiz I took led me to a greyhound as a top 3 pick. Then, I went to a meet and greet with a local adoption group. The dogs were wonderful. Magestic and calm and just wonderful. I started going to the meet and greets regularly to learn more and spend more time with the greys.

I have read several books that were suggested by the rescue. I thought I was ready to adopt but I wasn't settled. I had started a new job and was in the process of moving. I finally got moved to my new place, but my commute was 2-4 hours each way. I knew that I couldn't bring a dog into my life when I was away from home so much. Then, I started getting to work from home one day a week. And then two days. In February, I will be working from home three days a week.