Recall Training Help

Guest FlyingFlynn

Guest FlyingFlynn

Hi there everyone,

This is my first time posting to GT (though I've read a lot of articles since we got our 4yo boy Flynn about two years ago) and I was hoping for some pointers on recall training. Since day one we have done recall work but there is this one dangerous/annoying habitat that Flynn has we haven't managed to break. When my hubby or I call him he comes running at full speed and most of the time flies right past us and keeps on running, especially if he has the room. Sometimes he comes back but usually he gets distracted and forgot we called him so we call him again and he comes running but runs right past again.

This behavior is cause for much anxiety because while we are careful he has gotten out twice (once because he backed out of collar when a carbackfired and once because the latch on our backgate broke). Flynn tried to run past my husband but he was fast enough to grab his tag collar but the time he got out with me I was so afraid to call him and cause him to run that I chased him for nearly a mile while he went on a walk (he never ran but trotted out our walking path and back to our front door).

Sorry for the bit of a tangent to get around to by question but I was hoping someone here had some advise to stop this sprinting behavior.

In my experience this is a common problem with Greys. I think you need to go back to basics with his recall training. In a small space (indoors if necessary) reinforce your recall with rewards before moving onto a larger enclosed space i.e yard/garden. He needs to be responding to your call and coming straight to you before moving onto the next step.

Doing "fly pasts" is very common with Greys and can be great fun, but get the ground work done first.

Btw. I am currently doing recall with my latest Grey Johnny, three months ago I didn't think he would ever get it....but even my slightly"dense" boy is learning slowly :lol