Three Legged Lame, Hot, And Small Swelling

Guest Wasabi303

Guest Wasabi303

Went to visit a friend's ranch today, brought Wasabi along. She was running around having a great time exploring the completely fenced ranch. I let her out of my sight for a few minutes after watching her play for an hour or so, and came back outside to a dog standing on three legs. I checked for injury, hind leg just below the hock was swelling up and hot, but she didn't mind me touching it. Carried her inside and iced for about an hour, then we drove home. She refuses to put weight on it and it is still hot and slightly swollen. Rubbed leg with witch hazel and wrapped in an ace bandage to keep the swelling down over night. I think she just sprained it, but I am nervous because she keeps hopping around.

Should I take her to the vet in the morning or give it a couple days and see what happens?

(I am a college student on a budget, which is why I did not take her in right away. I will obviously spend whatever she needs, but I thought I would ask for advice first. You all have saved me $ in the past. I also have 15+ years experience with equine veterinary medicine, I know how to wrap a leg/ treat minor injuries.)

Edited by Wasabi303

If she's not putting weight on it in the morning, I'd go to the vet. These guys are stoic about actual injuries; they just turn all hypochondriac over nail trims.

Among other considerations, if you wait a day or two and she's not doing better, then you're looking at trying to get vet care on the weekend or waiting until Monday. I'd rather see my regular vet when it isn't an actual emergency than deal with a strange vet later.

P.S. Make sure the wrap isn't too tight. Feel her toes. If they are cold, the wrap probably is too tight.

15060353021_97558ce7da.jpg
Kathy and Q (CRT Qadeer from Fuzzy's Cannon and CRT Bonnie) and
Jane (WW's Aunt Jane from Trent Lee and Aunt M); photos to come.

Missing Silver (5.19.2005-10.27.2016), Tigger (4.5.2007-3.18.2016),