Sign in to follow this  
Guest mhall

Dog Just Ran Into Glass Door - E Vet?

Guest mhall

Jasper just collided with our glass door when coming in from the yard. My MIL let him out and didn't know he has a tendency to come barreling towards the door when he's ready to come in. She couldn't open it in time and he hit the top of his head, hard. He was running at a good clip.

The top of his head is very tender and he was sneezing quite a bit afterwards, but he seems ok. His pupils respond to light and he can follow my finger with his eyes. Should he still go to the E vet or are we ok to watch him? He gets super stressed at the vet, especially the E vet but we'll go if we need to. If we watch and wait, what should we look for? Advice appreciated!

I'm not a medical professional, but would probably just watch him, since you'll be paying for e-vet services anyway.

I'm sure others will have other symptoms, but I'd look for confusion and lack of response to common commands. If he shows signs of significant pain, or if the pupils don't continue to respond as you've already been testing, I'd move to the vet at that time.

Of course, any vomiting would also be an indicator of a problem.

I'd be reluctant to give him any food (or medicine) until you know that he's not going to need treatment at the vet's.

Good luck.

Other than the top of his head where he hit it, is he showing any signs of tenderness on his neck? Does he look like he is in pain or disoriented? Any trouble walking? Any discomfort in getting up from his bed or laying back down again?

Years ago there was a greyhound on GT who did not survive running into a glass door.

Charlie the iggy, Hada the podenco maneta, Georgie Girl (UMR Cordella)