First Time Owner

Guest KB_Legend

Guest KB_Legend

Hi, I'm new to this forum. I have read a few things in the past but only made an account today. Anyway I am a first time greyhound owner (first time pet owner actually) and I got my retired racer, Duke, on December 27th. I have done a good bit of reading not only online but also a couple different books but don't actually have any real experience and would appreciate some advice, as I am a novice.

For the first few months Duke stayed in his crate 100% of the time when I was out of the house, be it for work or errands or anything. His crate is big enough to stand up in and turn around to get comfortable, has a nice bed and some toys in it and he truly does seem to like it in there, spending a good bit of his time in there even when I'm home and the door is open. I wanted to give him this time for both of us to get used to each other build some confidence in house breaking and for him to get some familiarity with his new life as a pet and the expectations that come with it.

A few months ago I started leaving duke out for short periods of time when I would be out of the house for short periods of time (anywhere from 45 seconds to an hour over the course of multiple months) one week ago I left him out to have freedom within the house while I was out for over 3 hours. I came home to find him laying on the couch with everything just as I left it. The next day, and for the last week, Dukes crate has stayed open, giving him 24 hour access to the house, with not a single mishap of any kind.