Sign in to follow this  
Guest Celestrina

What Is Considered Senior?

I always thought it was 9 and above, but I am no expert! I think that our greys may be considered seniors at a younger age because they are larger dogs with potentially shorter lifespans.

My guy did not pass until around14 but I thought I really noticed the aging effects around 10.

I thought it was nine and above also.

gallery_22163_3545_11448.jpg

Humans Kathy and Jim with our girls Beka (BM Beko) and Ivy (Carolina Spoon)

Missing our beautiful angel Breeze (Dighton Breeze) - you are forever in our hearts.

I think large dogs are considered seniors at 7 or 8, but personally I don't count them as seniors until they turn 10. That's when I really start to notice a change.

Guest Lillypad

LOL, lets all agree it is 10. I like that number best. My girl is middle aged I guess at 5. Sad that they have such a short time with them.

The veteran greyhound classes at the fun dog shows are usually 7+ so I expect that as senior though agree that 7-8 isn't particularly old.

Guest june

My vet has a chart in the waiting area. It lists dog weights, physical ages and how old they really are. Rona is 10 and I was shocked to see what they gauged her age as.....so shocked I cannot remember what it was! I do remember it made me teary-eyed.

No, they are not with us long enough! :beatheart

In agility, dogs are eligible for the "veteran" class at 7.

Summit turned 9 in May and I have started to notice him slowing down this summer a little. :(

Kristie and the Apex Agility Greyhounds: Kili (ATChC AgMCh Lakilanni Where Eagles Fly RN IP MSCDC MTRDC ExS Bronze ExJ Bronze ) and Kenna (Lakilanni Kiss The Sky RN MADC MJDC AGDC AGEx AGExJ). Waiting at the Bridge: Retired racer Summit (Bbf Dropout) May 5, 2005-Jan 30, 2019

Like us on Facebook!