Newly Adopted Greyhound, A Few Questions And Any Other Advice Welcome&

Guest lestersmom

Guest lestersmom

Hi everyone!

(Be patient with me here, I am new to this ) :)

My husband and I adopted a retired greyhound, Lester, 5 days ago and are just so in love with him and need a few pieces of advice. He is 4 years old and seems to be a very mild mannered and calm dog. Not overly affectionate, not bothered by dogs (except really big ones...he gets a little scared), not bothered by children, he's just pretty laid back it seems...at least so far.

Lester has done great in the house, no issues using the bathroom in the house (so far), just follows us around wherever we go, he sleeps all night on his bed, and stays in his crate without problems while we are at work. However, we are having trouble getting him to eat. He has eaten 1 maybe 2 full meals since we brought him home, all the other times he barely touches his food...maybe a couple of bites at the most. He drinks water fine, but food is a different story. We have tried multiple different foods throughout the past couple of days and he isn't interested in any of them. We have tried giving him some cottage cheese & yogurt which the adoption agency said they loved and he won't eat that. We have started to try and teach him basic commands and he won't even eat treats as a reward. (We have tried 3 different types of treats too) And while on the training subject, do any of you have any advice on teaching greyhounds basic commands...especially without treats since he won't eat them for now?

Is he just having a hard time adjusting so he isn't eating? Is praise and love enough to train a greyhound basic commands?

What are some of your experiences you have had during the adjustment period with your greyhound?