Limping On Front Leg

Guest Eeh6df

Guest Eeh6df

Hi all,

I am new to greyhounds (We've had our sweet boy for just about 5 weeks!) and so far everything is going really well. We took him to the dog park the past two nights and let him run quite a bit, especially last night, as well as walk on rocks near the water and jump in and out of the water with his new dog friends. This wasn't something new, we've taken him probably at least once a week since we adopted him.

He was acting pretty normal all day today but I noticed when I took him on his walk tonight that he was limping on his front leg - not putting the full weight on, especially on the concrete outside. It isn't noticeable when he's just walking around inside, but when I took him out it was very noticeable. Since this is my first dog and first greyhound, I'm not sure what to do. He's been jumping up and down from the couch all day but he also seems much less active today, probably because of the leg.

Any ideas or seen this happen before? Is this something I should take him to the vet for right away?

Thanks for any advice! Everything he does is new to me and I want to make sure I'm providing the best care possible.

Guest Stardude82

I wouldn't freak out. My girl seems to randomly sprain herself and gets better in a few days. Check for redness, it might be a splinter or even a corn. If nothing is obviously wrong, don't let him run for a couple weeks, keep walks short until he stops limping and he'll probably be fine. If it gets worse, lasts longer than a week or he becomes lame, then take him in.

If you are really motivated, you might apply a hot pack or cold pack. My dogs will have nothing held to their feet.