Greyhound Waking Up Growling And Snapping

Guest grytlover

Guest grytlover

Hi There! I'm kinda new at this, as this is the first post I've done. I hope I've done it right. My 9 year old male, who is the sweetest, most gentle dog usually, has started having incidents of growling, snapping as he awakens from his sleep. I have read some older posts where others have had this problem with their greys as well. Has anyone ever had this diagnosed as a problem? When I talk to him in a calm voice and tell him its okay or to stop, he does. I have been told by a friend that this could be a possible petite mal seizure taking place. The vet said she thought he was "sleepwalking", but he never walks into anything and appears just fine afterwards. I would like to hear from anyone who is also going through or has gone through this with their dog(s). I have 2 greyhounds and other than this they are both doing okay.

Thanks! :)

Please, please read "Thoughts of A Greyhound" by Kathleen Gilly to help you understand your boy a little.

http://www.greyhoundinfo.org/?page_id=341

I know others will chime in but it sounds like what you are describing is commonly called sleep startle, not a seizure. Retired racers are completely unused to being disturbed when sleeping so this is a common reflex.

You don't say how long you have had your boy, or your other greys. If this is a new behavior and he hasn't been with you going, it may be that he's now comfortable enough to sleep soundly :)

Dave (GLS DeviousDavid) - 6/27/18
Gracie (AMF Saying Grace) - 10/21/12
Bella (KT Britta) - 4/29/05 to 2/13/20

It's safe to assume a 9 year old dog is not a recent retiree.

Although without knowing how long the poster has had this dog, he could have been doing this for a long time in a prior home.

Sounds like sleep startle to ME, or it's possible he could have a physical issue going on, if this is new behavior.

Hamish-siggy1.jpg