Sign in to follow this  
Vin0770

Fat Greyhound....?

It just dawned on me how much high protein no grain dog food I'm feeding these two grey's...two cups in the morning and two for supper (each) and then our activity is lower than when we can go to the dog park for a nice run when it's not sub-zero...and these guy look GREYT!

If our Golden Retriever would have eaten 4 cups a day of this high protein food he would have weighed 100 lbs...we kept him in shape and loved it when he was the same as these two grey's...70 lbs.

Do Greyhounds get fat? I'm new to these guys and it dawned on me....I've never seen a fat greyhound....EVER!

Yup, greyhounds get fat.
And all my adopters know, I will tell them that the moment their galgo looks like a greyhound, they are too fat.

All dogs can get fat and specially in winter, with less exercise you have to be careful

Guest Doggone

IMHO, any dog, just like any person, can get fat. :(

A fat greyhound often looks like a regular (or even thin) dog of another breed. So...yes they can get fat. It just isn't as noticeable. :)

A fat greyhound often looks like a regular (or even thin) dog of another breed. So...yes they can get fat. It just isn't as noticeable. :)

:nod

Good to know they can get fat. Do they get fat like other dogs look when they are fat? I have been weighing them every month and so far so good which is really what surprises me versus just the way they look. I think mine are getting out of shape conditioning wise because we haven't had the intense exercise the park gives us, they seem to get winded quicker these days playing in the house with me. I wish I was as fat as a Greyhound.... :chow

Guest DogNewbie

I think you are supposed to see thier last 2-3 ribs to indicate a healthy/good weight

Guest Lillypad

And this article is worth a read as well http://greytarticles.wordpress.com/feeding-nutrition/go-figure-weight-issues/