Is It Ever Just A Strain?

Guest lynne893

Guest lynne893

Greta was running around in our backyard like a banshee this morning. When she was finished, I thought I noticed an ever so slight limp or jauntiness to her back leg.

This evening when she went out to do her business, it seemed the same (not worse, not better). I could even be imagining it.

Anyway, reason and rational thinking would lead me to conclude she might've tweaked her leg or hip a little while she was doing zoomies.

Obviously I'll keep an eye on her, but tell me, is it ever just a strain? Or is that something we say to ourselves?

I've never had a dog strain a muscle, tendon, ligament, etc. I'm new to that kind of owie!

Yes. Especially if she was running around.

If you can keep her from running for a few days, it might help.

Standard Poodle Daisy (12/13)
Missing Cora (RL Nevada 5/99-10/09), Piper (Cee Bar Easy 2/99-1/10), Tally (Thunder La La 9/99-3/10), Edie (Daring Reva 9/99-10/12), Dixie (Kiowa Secret Sue 11/01-1/13), Jessie (P's Real Time 11/98-3/13), token boy Graham (Zydeco Dancer 9/00-5/13), Cal (Back Already 12/99-11/13), Betsy (Back Kick Beth 11/98-12/13), Standard Poodles Minnie (1/99-1/14) + Perry (9/98-2/14), Annie (Do Marcia 9/03-10/14), Pink (Miss Pinky Baker 1/02-6/15), Poppy (Cmon Err Not 8/05-1/16), Kat (Jax Candy 5/05-5/17), Ivy (Jax Isis 10/07-7/21), Hildy (Braska Hildy 7/10-12/22), Opal (Jax Opal 7/08-4/23). Toodles (BL Toodles 7/09-4/24)

Yep. Chase has tendonitis in one leg that acts up whenever he runs or plays too hard or we walk a little too far on our walks. Scared the begeezus out of us when it first happened! The initial diagnosis was a year or so ago and our vet prescribed a course of deramax with total rest for about 4 weeks. Also we did 2 laser treatments for inflamation that did seem to help. Chase is almost 11 now. The tendonitis hasn't flared up nearly as bad as the initial incident but we do try to limit his opportunities to run full out these days.