A Scheduling Question

Guest MrsKuchta

Guest MrsKuchta

Hello everyone!

My husband and I are planning to adopt our first greyhound and we had a few questions...the most important one being about when to adopt.

I am currently a graduate student and my husband works full time during the week. Starting mid-December I will be on a month long break from school, which is when we were considering adopting. My question is, would it be better to adopt when the dog would be on a strict crating/feeding schedule (IE: when I'm not on break and I'm still in school) or is it better to give the dog time to acclimate for a month when I will be home most of the time?

We obviously want to avoid separation anxiety, but we want to give the dog time to adjust as well

Thanks in advance!

Definitely while you are on break. That will give you time to acclimate to each other, but more importantly, will allow you time to do some alone training before you go back and the pup is alone during the day. Use the search function at the top to find threads on "alone training" and you will find lots of great info.

Good luck!

rocket-signature-jpeg.jpg

Camp Broodie. The current home of Mark Kay Mark Jack and Gracie Kiowa Safe Joan.  Always missing my boy Rocket Hi Noon Rocket,  Allie  Phoenix Dynamite, Kate Miss Kate, Starz Under Da Starz, Petunia MW Neptunia, Diva Astar Dashindiva, and LaVida I've Got Life

The answer is yes. You want to be home for at least a little while when they first come home. They need to acclimate, settle down from moving around, do alone training, and some walking with you to develop a good bond. But you can also begin to put him on the schedule you need him to be on for "normal" days - for feeding, for pottying, for exercise. The only difference being you're not going to leave the house for extended periods (right away).

Chris - Mom to: Felicity (DeLand), and Andi (Braska Pandora)

52592535884_69debcd9b4.jpgsiggy by Chris Harper, on Flickr